2013 TSD Video Contest

Click tabs for more information
Teen Safe Driving 2013 Winners

Congratulations to all the Duval County Schools students that participated in the Teen Safe Driving Video Contest. You all did an amazing job at bringing awareness to the dangers of distracted driving to your schools and the community.

The video contest’s 1st place prize winners received $2,000* in scholarships and $1,000 toward public school improvements at their high school. The 2nd place prize winners received $1,500 in Scholarships*, and the 3rd place winners received $750 in Scholarships*. Here are the 2013 Teen Safe Driving Video Contest winners:


Carson Morales & Darien Bankhead, First Coast High School


Alexis Brown, Stanton College Preparatory School


Ashley Coates, Stanley Brooks, Kacie Colburn, & Matt McGlynn, Paxon High School

Car crashes are the number one
cause of death for teens ages 16-19¹

Stand up, speak up and make a difference!

Teen Safe Driving - High School Video Contest 2013 by The SELF Movement

Well, here is your chance to do something about it. The SELF Movement is partnering with The Allstate Foundation, Duval County Public Schools and The Jacksonville Sheriff’s Office to bring awareness to this deadly statistic by hosting a Teen Safe Driving Video Contest.

So get a group of up to four high school students together to create a compelling 30-60 second video that promotes safe driving habits! Compete against high schools in Duval County for bragging rights, have your team’s video promoted on the web and win up to $2,000 in scholarships* for your team! The winning videos and school will be formally announced at The Second Annual Student O.S.C.A.R.S., a red carpet event tentatively scheduled for May 23rd.

Get started by following these steps:

Step 1: Create a 30-60 second Video

Create a video to inform and inspire your friends about the dangers of distracted or impaired driving. Creativity and educational value is more important than quality. It can be a parody, flip book or even sock puppets – seriously! As long as you get the message across in the video and follow the rules.
Register Now!


Step 2: Submit your video

Format your video according to the guidelines, and upload it here to this site between February 19th and March 31st, 2013 at 11:59 PM.

Step 3: View and vote

The public will be allowed to view, vote on, and select forty (40) finalists from the video entries from April 6th to April 28th, and a panel of renowned judges will select the overall winners from the categories Best Picture, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Costume Design, Best Film Editing, and Best Comedy. The top three videos as selected by the judges will be finalists for Best Picture and it is from these three videos that the scholarship prizes will be awarded. Submit your video early for the best chance to win, but even if you submit your video late in the contest you still have a chance at the grand prize!. See registration page.

In Partnership with: Duval County Public Schools, The Jacksonville Sheriff’s Office and The Allstate Foundation
Sponsored by: Latitude 30 CSX Corporation, Inc.

¹Facts Parents Need To Know, Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (http://www.flhsmv.gov/teens/parent_facts.html)
*Scholarships will be divided by the number of eligible students listed on the video submission.

    Show Comments

    No Comments

    Add comment